The Open Government Partnership is a multilateral initiative that aims to secure concrete commitments from governments to promote transparency, empower citizens, fight corruption, and harness new technologies to strengthen governance. In the spirit of multi-stakeholder collaboration, OGP is overseen by a Steering Committee including representatives of governments and civil society organizations.

One of its programs, the Open Government Partnership (OGP) Local program, is an initiative that recognizes and supports the role that municipal, city, metropolitan, state, regional, and provincial entities play in advancing open government, due to their close proximity to citizens and the crucial public services they provide. OGP launched a Subnational Pilot in 2016, with 15 pioneering subnational governments submitting and implementing their first Action Plans 2016-2017.
On April 2018, among the many local government units in the world, South Cotabato was chosen to be among the five (5) new additional members, bringing the total OGP Local Participants to 20, as follows:

Austin, United States
Basque Country, Spain
Bojonegoro, Indonesia
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Elgeyo Marakwet, Kenya
Iași, Romania
Jalisco, Mexico
Kaduna State, Nigeria
Kigoma, Tanzania
La Libertad, Peru

Madrid, Spain
Nariño, Colombia
Ontario, Canada
Paris, France
São Paulo, Brazil
Scotland, United Kingdom
Sekondi-Takoradi, Ghana
Seoul, South Korea
South Cotabato, Philippines
Tbilisi, Georgia

The OGP Local program aims to harness the innovation and momentum demonstrated by local governments and civil society partners across the world. OGP is a platform for these governments and civil society to come together to make their governments more open, inclusive and responsive, modeling the values and principles of the Open Government Declaration and processes.




[contact-form-7 404 "Not Found"]